Transformerless inverter in an off-grid stationary RV

Tulumtam
Tulumtam Solar Expert Posts: 37 ✭✭
I have a neighbor who has purchased the following equipment and he has asked me to install it in his RV which will be stationary for about 1 year while he is building his house:

Voltronic Power Axpert VM II 3kva 24 volt inverter/charger with 80A MPPT charge controller
4 Trojan L16G batteries
4 330w PV modules

This is in a remote location with no grid power, so completely off grid.

I have installed 80+ off-grid systems, but I have no experience with transformerless inverters in an off-grid situation.  I also have no experience with RVs.  My neighbor assumes that the AC output of the inverter (it is a 120v model) can be wired into the outlet for connecting to mains power at an RV park.  Is this the best approach?  How should grounding be handled?  I have been trying to research transformerless off-grid inverter installations, but there isn't anything on the internet that I can find besides some manuals with little information and some conflicting specs.  My hesitancy is strong, but somewhat vague.  Any warnings, advice and ideas would be greatly appreciated!

I am not sure if I should post this in the off-grid or the RV section.  I am choosing the off-grid section for now.

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Transformerless inverters have no isolation, so grounding becomes a problem. you will have to read up about the grounding of the inverter and if the PV panels and charge controller must be floating or grounded somehow.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||