MPPT vs PWM with Voltage Down Controller circuitry

Options
SLPx
SLPx Registered Users Posts: 3
Hi All,

I'm a Newbie here. But I do have a problem to ask and appreciate very much that If any of the seniors here could shed me a light.

I have a solar network of following
- 3 panels of 340W (36V, 47Vmp)
-Two PWM chargers of 30A/60A
-One MPPT charger with 60A
-Inverter 230V, 1500W with 12V input
-Two Lead-acid (car) batteries (at the moment).
-The network is on 12V off-grid
-Used to power the house, when the inverter power is available, the house connected to the inverter. when the juice is over, automatically switches to the grid. 
-at the moment, unable to grid tie the panels and buy new batteries (including deep-cycle) 

I have connected two solar panels parallel to MPPT and One panel to PWM
-When connected my PWM controller withdraw charging the batteries and let the voltage of the solar panel to flee
-MPPT charge controller got 20A and it did not charge the Lead batteries to full. Kept the maximum level at 12.5V (although the charge voltage is 14.2)

So I disconnect my MPPT controller and connect all to PWM.
PWM charges the batteries to 13.8V and batteries lasts to the night.

Now I have the following issues to tackle.
1. Since I'm not using a collosal amount of energy out of the panels and only the PWM controller is working,
With the least cost options and almost exclusively using existing peripherals,
 ---- can I use a 5-60V DC step down converter to 18V between solar panels and the PWM controllers, to utilize the missing voltage area of 18-46

2. Having two deep-cycle batteries with the MPPT controller at 24V (purchasing two deep cycle batteries) and convert the output with step down controller to either other two batteries to charge or, directly to the inverter and having an ac-dc charger to charge the rest of the batteries.
(use the battery storage to night use)

3. any other feasible solution to this.

Thanks and Best regards
Sanjeewa

Comments

• Photowhit