Solar newbie with questions

Options
scorpius
scorpius Registered Users Posts: 3

Hi all, I'm a newbie to the solar scene. I've always loved the idea of getting power from the sun since I was a kid, and now that I'm looking at buying a travel trailer in a year or so, I've found reason to really get to know more about it. Anyway I will get to the point..

I'm looking for a suitable deep cycle AGM 12V battery to power two 5V 1A devices continuously off of a 50w solar panel. Two small IP cameras.

I was previously using a 60400 mAh, 123wh lithium battery but started to run into surge issues as there was no charge controller. I didn't even know I needed one until I started to read more about solar.. One of the devices became inoperative because of power surge damage. I am hoping to avoid this issue by using a 12v deep cycle battery that is compatible with a commonly available charge controller. I'll appreciate any feedback about PWM vs MPPT for such a small solar application..

However I am unsure of what Ah of battery I would need as I know that deep cycle lead acid batteries are much different from lithium, and that going below 50% of power on a deep cycle battery should be avoided.

Thanks for your help and patience..

Comments

• Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

A 10 watt load running 24x7 is 240 watt-hours / day, plus a bit of loss in the 12v-5v dc conversion. A 50w panel will make maybe 50 x .75 (temperature derating) x 4hrs (full sun equivalent) or ~150wh/day in most climates. Depending on location, if the trailer is only for summer use, sun hours might be a bit more - with an approximte location, this could be estimated more accurately.

Assuming solar is the only power source, it looks like you'll likely need more solar and/or reduced operating hours.