Double question! Running electronics directly off DC? & EMF pollution from solar system?

siltsunrise
siltsunrise Registered Users Posts: 2
Hi, I'm a complete solar noob and have next to no electronics knowledge at all. But I'm reasonably intelligent. ;)
I'm looking at potential tiny house living spots here in germany and a couple would have to be off-grid, so I'm thinking about wind and solar and batteries.
My first question is: is it at all possible to run devices like a stereo and computer directly off DC power? As far as I know, they're just converting AC to DC in the brick or internally anyway, right? The devices would be a receiver, blu ray player, subwoofer, PC, and monitor. I assume my mixer is all AC. 
So it seems logical to just bypass that wasteful conversion in the first place, if possible.
If it's possible, what would it take to hack the devices to do it?
Would the conversion loss savings be worth the trouble for so many devices? Keeping in mind that skipping the AC might have the side benefit of reducing EMF fields from my devices' transformers, which are significant, and in a tiny house, bit hard to avoid.
No I don't wear a tin hat, but still don't like sitting in strong electrical fields all day. That doesn't seem like a good idea to me. 

Which ties into my second question: what type and how much EMF pollution do solar systems tend to put out? How far does it reach? I read a bit of a thread here about RF interference from a radio guy, from his solar rig. I'm rather EMF allergic. If a bit of distance would keep me in the clean, I could build the system some distance from my house, rather than on/in it, I reckon.
Is it possible to prevent it, totally?

Thanks for any help!

Comments

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited January 2019 #2