Does it make a difference where I connect a Remote Temperature Sensor

rcteel5
rcteel5 Registered Users Posts: 3
I am new at this. I have a cabin in a very remote area in Michigan that can get in the 90's in the summer, and 20+ below zero in the winter, so I want to add a battery temp sensor to assist in charging. 

I have a 12 panel (4KW) system with a MagnaSine MS4448PAE Inverter and an Outback FlexMax 80 charge controller. Both of the devices have an optional Remote Temp Sensor available.  Does it matter which device I connect a sensor to? (I haven't bought the sensor yet). I would appreciate any advice you can give!

Comments

• littleharbor2
    littleharbor2 Solar Expert Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Typically you place them about 2/3rds of the way up the side of the battery case. In a bank of batteries place it on an inner battery, not out on the perimeter. Some sensors are designed to bolt onto a terminal,  I'd say still on an inner terminal. 

2.1 Kw Suntech 175 mono, Classic 200, Trace SW 4024 ( 15 years old  but brand new out of sealed factory box Jan. 2015), Bogart Tri-metric,  460 Ah. 24 volt LiFePo4 battery bank. Plenty of Baja Sea of Cortez sunshine.

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    You can also get a block of styrofoam, carve a recess in it, and glue or strap or wedge over the remote sensor on the side of the battery (want battery temperature, not air temperature).

Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • Vic
    Vic Solar Expert Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭✭

And,   the FM 80 definitely needs the BTS,   if you use the Inverter to do much charging,   it should also have one.

As littleharbor mentioned,   place both sensors on the same battery in center of the pack,  an inside surface of the battery.