Newbie Here, Need Opinions on Inverters

H_G
H_G Registered Users Posts: 16 ✭✭
Title says it all folks, I've already hooked up 4/100watt panels to 4/125 amp hr lead acid deep cycle batteries, they're fused, controlled and everything works fine. I'm not using this system daily but will be kept ready for an emergency and ideally I'd want to run a small office fridge (about 3ft high) and/or a small washing machine and maybe a fan at night but nothing else and one appliance at a time. 
Will a 1500 watt pure sine inverter be enough or would I need a 2000 watt one? Which brand?
I have looked at the xantrex and Aims online as I'd like one that's not super expensive but reliable in the long run.
What brand and power would you get for this set up?
Please bear in mind I see this as an emergency generator without oil, gas nor noise. 
Thanks
I may have neglected to mention a 1200 watt square wave harbor freight inverter I already have and seems able to run this fridge or even the regular one. I've gotten these smaller appliances since becoming disabled and realizing that I'm alone and these smaller appliances would -in theory- draw less power while running on solar or off generators. Having them as back up also gives me peace of mind, knowing my cold stuff won't go bad. 

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,422 admin
    1,200 to 1,500 Watt AC (TSW recommended) inverter should be enough.

Your batteries, are they 12 volt @ 125 AH capacity deep cycle batteries (or Marine rated)? All 4 connected in parallel?

If the bank is as I describe, that bank would be capable or "reliably" running about a 1,250 Watt inverter at rated load (and 2x surge current).

If these batteries are flooded cell Marine type (not true deep cycle) or a communications/UPS battery designed for float service--They are not ideal for your needs.