Solar on 2x4 Roof Trusses

Options
KoolKev
KoolKev Registered Users Posts: 5 ✭✭
Is it feasible to put solar on a shingle roof with 2x4 trusses without beefing them up/consulting an engineer? 1954 house one layer of shingles. Appears to be original sheathing not plywood. Roof in good condition so replacing doesn't seem justified. Inglewood California  so no snow load and 85mph 3 second wind load. I was hoping for a 5kw system but 2-3kw would cover my usage now with gas water heater and furnace.

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2016 #2
    Options
    I'm no mech engineer.  Depends on the spacing and span, and how much termite damage.  I think you have to get a consult, or show that the space & span meets current requirements.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    Options
    I have an 80 year old home with rough 2x4 that, with permits, has a 3.3 kW array.

It had not blown off, but I would not do it of my home was on a windy bluff/subjected to direct wind (hurricane, full on to coastal wind storms. Those through beam bolts take a lot of wood away.

If a structural engineer signs off, your insurance should be good.

If your roof is over 15 years old, get a new roof first.

If asphalt shingle, after 20 years, they can leak (no matter the 40+ year warrantee).

My two cents worth of opinion.

-Bill