Basic Connection Help!

Options
kaipo_boy
kaipo_boy Solar Expert Posts: 143 ✭✭
Rank newbie here. I'm grid connected at the present time, but assembling components for a trial of a small system to gradually migrate my home off the grid. I will build several stand alone systems as funds allow, so this first system is the trial/data gathering one to get my feet wet.

I will have 3 Trina 265W panels, Voc is 38.5v each, Imp 8.66A, in series with a Midnite Solar Kid charge controller. The batteries will be 4 Interstate GC type 6v golf cart batteries in series for 24v. The inverter is a 1.5kW Cotek. I have purchased all these components except the panels, still awaiting delivery of them.

Since this will be a fairly small system to partially offset my grid power use, I can watch the battery DOD and nurse it to the 50% mark then stop using the system if I have to and go back onto the grid. Initial use will be limited to a couple fridge/freezers and lights/TV etc. But I'm considering getting an Iota Engineering 24v charger to hook up to my small 2200w Ryobi (1800w sustained) genset in case I run the batteries too much before dawn and have to charge them up and can't wait for dawn.