DC Generators

mcnutt13579
mcnutt13579 Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭✭
I operate a generator service. Almost everybody who has off grid solar around here has a supplemental generator and most are sized that it gets some good run time. Outback FX systems are by far the most popular here. I am not an expert on them because we have some good solar electric guys who take care of that end. But the customers and solar guys turn to me for generator advice.

One thing that has intrigued me are the DC output generators from Kohler and Polar Power. They dump DC power directly to the batteries. I believe that when the FX commands generator start it expects to see AC voltage on the AC in terminals. Can this be changed to work with DC input to the batteries directly?

Also, I recently learned that the Flex charge controller has aux terminals that can be used for generator. Maybe this is an option?

Comments

• CALLD
    CALLD Solar Expert Posts: 230 ✭✭
    I don't have a back-up generator because I have access to a (mostly reliable) grid, but seeing everyone else on here talk about generators has always interested me.

I cannot see how a "DC" generator would actually work unless it had a built-in charge controller. For a so-called DC generator to be of much use it would have to have all the options built into it that a solar charge controller has so that it could be used to charge any type of off-grid battery correctly. Because of that I would imagine most off gridders have a normal AC generator that charges the batteries via an inverter with a built in charger or via a seperate battery charger. If I ever did get hold of a DC generator I would perhaps try to run it through my MPPT charger controller at night only. My charger controller has a function that prevents it from passing more than it's rated current so an over-sized generator would not harm it provided the DC voltage was not more than 150volts.
  • jonr
    jonr Solar Expert Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭✭