Electricity Quality

Options
sawmill
sawmill Solar Expert Posts: 93 ✭✭✭
I have been using an Outback vfx 3524 for the past three years. It appears that in recent months the digital clocks have been showing a greater increase of time gain in a 24 hour period.

Today the microwave died (could have been it's time). The one who must be obeyed has raised questions about the quality of electricity being produced by our solar system.

My Kill A Watt meter shows 59.9 cycles from the grid and the same from the Vfx.

Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated.

Bill

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Electricity Quality

How close to Area 51 are you ?
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• Brock
    Brock Solar Expert Posts: 639 ✭✭✭✭
    Options

Is it tied to the grid? If so it's getting it Hz from the grid anyway. I haven't heard of any having issues, without a good meter like a fluke 87 or better that can min max Hz in 1/10 seconds it might be hard to find out. I would highly doubt the inverter killed the micro, but without more info it's hard to say.
    3kw solar PV, 4 LiFePO4 100a, xw 6048, Honda eu2000i, iota DLS-54-13, Tesla 3, Leaf, Volt, 4 ton horizontal geothermal, grid tied - Green Bay, WI
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options