Battery Size Required to Run a Blower?

Options
Mass Solar
Mass Solar Registered Users Posts: 6
This might be a little off topic - so I apologize on what board to post on.
Not being an engineer, I was looking to find some information on what size battery one would need to power a small blower fan on a wood insert? Unfortunately, the blower itself did not have any stampings on it as far as power draw, but its a fairly simple device of 2 small "cage" type fans that force air in on the bottom of the insert, and then circulates the warm air out of the top of the unit. I was looking at buying a battery backup device to run the fan for perhaps 24 hours when the power is out. Was looking at ones that can be used for computer systems, but got a bit confused on the "sinewave" do's and don'ts. Thanks.

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Battery Size Required to Run a Blower?

I'll assume your "wood insert" is some sort of wood fired heater stove, that has rigged onto it, a blower, to force air thru some passages, to heat the air, and therefore the room ?

It doesn't matter if it's a heater or an air conditioner. The fan motor will still draw the same. 2 small squirrel cage fans will take quite a bit of power, I'd guess at 1/5HP on the shaft, and with losses, about 1/4Hp consumed. 1hp = 750W, so your motor may burn close to 200W.

In 24 hours, that's 4.8KWH.

for a motor, you WANT/NEED a pure sinewave. (Moringstar Suresine 300W)

Next step, get a power meter of some sort, and measure power draw of your fan. for 5KWH of storage, you should just wear a jacket. It's THAT expensive, unless it's a very attractive fan.