Looking for RV Solar System Supplier & Installer

Mick-UK
Mick-UK Registered Users Posts: 19
Hi, We are an English couple who last Oct flew to the USA to tour the USA & Canada,buying in the process a Fleetwood Discovery 39ft diesel RV and Jeep.

We are currently just outside Toronto,Canada but will soon re-cross the border into the USA to resume our tour south via the east coast back towards Florida.

The Discovery's power itinerary consists of an Onan 7.5kw gen,Freedom 458 120V /12V AC/DC Converter w/2000-Watt Inverter,4 x 6volt Trojan T105 batteries. I am no electrician but I believe that all of the above is the standard American 'A' class RV set-up?

Once the touring is over we intend to ship BOTH vehicles back to the UK to tour both the UK & Europe.

In the UK I intend to keep the RV's electrics system as 120v and connect to any UK or European supply 230v via a transformer, however the MAX UK supply is 16amp & 230v, France could be as low as 2-3amp.

When it comes to our electric consumption per day/week or month I would say that we would use no more than any average couples.

Now I requested members on my Discovery Owners forum to recommend any companies in the USA who could supply and install a solar panel system to our RV and one member suggested I try Wind & Sun hence this posting.

So far either rightly or wrongly I have been looking for a system of at least 200 watts my theory being too much is better than too little??

No route south has been planned so we just await the 'right' company to make themselves know so that we can take in a visit to their town and state to get the solar system installed.

Thank You

Mick

Comments

• n3qik
    n3qik Solar Expert Posts: 741 ✭✭
    Re: Looking for RV Solar System Supplier & Installer

Non-solar related, North America is 60 hertz where as Europe is 50 hertz. This maybe a problem with some of the electronic in the coach.