AGM Battery voltage - confused

Options
vaggianak
vaggianak Registered Users Posts: 7
Hello. I really need to understand the voltage readings in my batteries. Please, be patient, I'm new at this :)

12 batteries GFM 500 (2V / 500 Ah each), system in 24 V
4 kW of solar panels, divided in groups. Each one uses its own MPPT charge controller.
Gasoline generator 3.5 kVA
Inverter/charger 3000 W

Facts
When the sun shines, battery voltage is 28.8 V and the solar chargers indicating that batteries are full.
If I disconnect the solar chargers at this time, and cut off the loads, the voltage drops at 25.2-25.4 V. Then I turn on the power generator in order to charge the batteries, the generator works and charges the batteries at a slow rate. If then gradually I reconnect the solar chargers, voltage rises until it gets at 28.8 and the inverter/charger indicates that charging by the generator is at its final stage. And it goes this exact way, if I disconnect the solar chargers, charge using the generator etc.

1.I don't understand why the generator charges the batteries if they are supposed to be already fully charged by the sun. Generally I don't understand this rapid rise of voltage when i gradually reconnect the solar panels. Does it really correspond to charging or not?

2.If an electric consumption is on, let's say that it draws nominally 2 A AC, it draws 2x24=48 A from the batteries (DC), am I right? So I'm supposed to read a voltage reduction of (48/500)*100% =9.6% or (25.6-23)*0.096 = 0.25 V? I know that this calculation is way too rough to be confirmed, but I 'm trying to understand how it works.

Thank you in advance

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: AGM Battery voltage - confused