beginner here, need help keeping my work trailer warm

kennedy759
kennedy759 Registered Users Posts: 10
I am currently installing a harbor freight 45w kit on my chicken coop to provide light and to power a 100w heated water dispenser(I have a 400w inverter). any way thats ok, but my main project is a way to heat my carpet cleaning trailer when temps are below 32 degrees as its full of pumps and hoses full of water. currently I use a 1500w space heater run from the grid. from my reading on this forum its hard to power resistant heat using a PV system, any ideas on how I can set this up. I know the space heater has to be sucking up a lot of power being run 12 to 24 hours a day. on the coldest days I would back it up with a second heater run from the grid

Comments

• gww1
    gww1 Solar Expert Posts: 963 ✭✭
    Re: beginner here, need help keeping my work trailer warm

The make or you could make solar hot air heater that would give you some help during days that the sun comes out, The simplest is like the guys who stack the soda cans in an insulated box and cover it with glass cold air goes in the bottom and hot air comes out the top some of the fancy ones have fans. Some are made with black metal with a gap covered in glass. Maby sI can't even reamember the name so you could do a search. It would probly give you the most heat for your buck.

http://www.builditsolar.com/Projects/SpaceHeating/ShopThermosyphon/ShopThermosyphon.htmMaby something like this

Good luck
    gww

PS I got chickens too.
  • mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭

Sadly, the cardboard box the panels came in, will burn longer and produce more heat, the the normal HF 45w kits will. :(

If the panels did produce 45 watts, in a 3 hour winter day, you could harvest enough power (135 watts) to power a 100w bulb, for 1 hour. (actually somewhat less because of system losses)

For heating - forget solar electric. Try a Mr Buddy propane heater on lowest setting.