Feedback on new system

Options
vince
vince Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭
Please review and comment on my planned solar system. I think that I have done my homework but want to make sure I did not overlook something important as I'm still learning all the different variables to consider.
I am building a Tiny House on wheels and want a solar system to meet my electric needs of 1.5 KwH/day on average with optional loads on sunny days. I was planning to get the following system description and already have the solar panels:
3 Sunpower 435 W panels, parallel connected to a combiner box (Midnite) with 15A circuit breakers for each panel, Midnite solar Kid charge controller 30A, and 4 Trojan batteries T1275 (150 AH) in series for a 48 V system. Will down convert to two 12v. 10A circuits to power LED lights, pumps and a 24 v circuit for solar fridge (Grape Solar), each circuit protected by a breaker. Will use Cotek 1500 w inverter for optional 120 AC loads such as split level air conditioning, toaster, microwave, etc. Location is primary KY but as it is mobile, it needs to be adaptable to broad range of conditions.
Your feedback is appreciated. Thanks
Sunpower 3 x 435 watt panels, 48 v 215 AH battery bank (Sam's club), Midnite Kid and WBjr, Fujitsu 9RLS3 split duct AC, Outback FX 3048T + transformer 2000W 120/220V, GrapeSolar Fridge.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Feedback on new system

Welcome to the forum Vince.

Well it will work but ... I wonder about some of the choices made.
    For example, why a 48 Volt system for 1.5 kW hours of power? Why the T1275 batteries? You can get more power for less money in other brands and the Trojans are sometimes problematic in charging (demand higher Voltage).

I don't think I've ever seen a 1500 Watt 48 Volt inverter. Nor would I be keen on using a DC to DC converter to run 12 VDC lights from a 48 Volt battery bank and the same for a 24 Volt refrigerator.