questions about building a solar generator to power electric lawn mower

Options
Baxter
Baxter Registered Users Posts: 6
I'm new to solar energy and trying to learn as much as I can before I invest any time and money. My goal is to start a solar lawn care business in Alabama, and have a solar panel attached to the top of a truck tool box, with battery and inverter inside so I can charge my batteries in between mowings. I know it is possible because there are other business doing it out there. I have a 36 volt lawn mower and a 18 volt trimmer that has about 4 batteries.

The charger for the lawn mower plugs into a regular outlet and reads Input: AC 100-240v 47-63Hz 0.3A Output:36V - 0.7A The rechargeable battery just has 36v 10ah on it. My question on that is, what size panel, inverter, charge controller, and battery would I need to keep it charged or topped off in-between cuts? I was thinking a 120 watt panel, xantrex true sine wave inverter SW600 540 Watt, 30 A charge controller, 12 volt 100ah AGM battery...Am I close to being right on this?

Everything will be located inside the truck tool box to keep the elements off of it, but I just not sure if I'm going in the right direction on this. Any advice or opinion would be beneficial.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: questions about building a solar generator to power electric lawn mower

Welcome to the forum.

Yes, it is possible. From a technical point of view it's about as practical as a chocolate hammer. Grid power is cheaper. But that doesn't include any marketing benefits from the 'green perception'.

What's missing from your numbers is time: how long does it take to recharge the mower and the trimmer? If you drain them down completely, then plug them in through a Kill-A-Watt you will get a fairly accurate number for the maximum Watt hours required. From that you can figure out what step to take next.