Trailer solar application

newmexico
newmexico Registered Users Posts: 7
First of all great forum..

I'm charged with getting the supplies needed to put solar on a trailer to be used as a remote work station. I would like to just go to the sponsors of this forum's brick and mortar store and ask them, but it's too far away. I've come up with with a list of items that I think will work together, but I'm no expert. Here's the list with the basic Items that I'm looking at.

Two Kyocera KD135GX-LP solar panels $670 each

Either parallel wiring Blue Sky 2000E MPPT Charge Controller 25 amp $225 OR

Series wiring Blue Sky SB3024i MPPT Charge controller 30 amp $322 OR

Series wiring Morningstar SS-MPPT-15. 15 Amp, 12 or 24 Volt Solar Charge Controller
with a remote battery temp sensor.

MC4 cables to connect the panels together and the cable to run to the charge controller Two 6 ft sections $18 each--- and two 50 foot sections $40 each.

two Trojan T-105 six volt batteries in series for 12 volts 240 amp hours.

I'm wondering if there are any obvious mismatches in the size of these components, and also if there are any other components needed to make things work... i.e in line fuses etc.

Thanks

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Trailer solar application

Just a quick look at your hardware needs, The two panels will put out ~ 270 watts~22 amps, not a lot of headroom for a 25 amp controller.

Same panels @ 24vdc would put out ~11.25 amps,, not a lot of headroom for a 15 amp controller.

I would also always consider temp control on any controller, especially if the batteries are subjected to cold or hot extremes.

Good luck,

Tony

Panel specs:
    Specifications for Kyocera KD135GX-LP Solar Panel
    Max Rated Power (Pmax) 135 Watts
    Voltage at Max Power (Vmpp) 17.7
    Current at Max Power (Impp) 7.63 Amps
    Open Circuit Voltage (Voc) 22.1
    Short Circuit Current (Isc) 8.37 Amps
    Length x Width x Depth (inches) 59.1 x 26.3 x 1.4