Can this setup run my freezer?

Options
Seeria
Seeria Registered Users Posts: 1
Hello everyone. I'm very new to this solar thing and not overly electronics brainy. I did a bunch of reading this week and some searching around, then came up with this setup.

What I need is to run a small freezer, 5cu, (max surge seems to be under 1k) and recharge my batteries (the solar and AAAs/electronics). I'll be without electrical hookups 2-3 days in a row, then will either do Rv hookups or run the gen if needed. The big thing here is to keep the freezer working.

Can this setup do it?

1 245watt panel
1 100ah 12v AGM battery
Charge controller, 30amp (450watt), PWM for 12volt
Various rails and mounts
Inverter 1500w (3k peak) pure sine wave DC-AC
Cables (thinking 10 or 8g?) and various extras

Panel would sit directly above the battery/controller/inverter bay and freezer (top of the RV).

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Can this setup run my freezer?

Welcome to the forum.

The short answer is "no".
    The long answer is longer. It's a matter of: A). whether or not the inverter & battery will start the freezer; B). whether or not the battery can supply the require Watt hours the freezer will use, and; C). whether or not the panel is sufficient to recharge the battery.

The first one is difficult because we don't know the real start-up demand. You won't capture that with a Kill-A-Watt meter. But then you haven't provided any numbers like that. The cubic capacity of the freezer is irrelevant to how much power it needs: small ones are just as power-hungry as large ones, and sometimes more so.

Normally a refrigeration unit will spike 5X its running current to start, but sometimes less and sometimes more. It isn't even consistent on any given one because the demand will vary with the conditions the compressor has to start under (changes in gas pressure in the line).