Connecting the Charge Controller for a solar system

terminator
terminator Registered Users Posts: 5
Hello, I'm very new to solar energy. I got a charge controller from China - It probably wasn't the best choice but I just want to get something up and running / to experiment with. There are 3 electrical connections on the charge controller.. Solar, battery, and load... Am I supposed to hook up the inverter to the load connectors on the charge controller or directly to the battery?

Here is my cheap charge controller:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/181345329849?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

Comments

• Vic
    Vic Solar Expert Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Connecting the Charge Controller for a solar system

Hi terminator, Welcome to the Forum.

Generally, NO, the inverter will need its own connection to the battery. You will need a fuse or circuit breaker, and suitable sized wire/cable for the battery to Inverter connections. Look at the manual for the inverter for the recommended sizes for these.

Vic
    Off Grid - Two systems -- 4 SW+ 5548 Inverters, Surrette 4KS25 1280 AH X2@48V, 11.1 KW STC PV, 4X MidNite Classic 150 w/ WBjrs, Beta KID on S-530s, MX-60s, MN Bkrs/Boxes.  25 KVA Polyphase Kubota diesel,  Honda Eu6500isa,  Eu3000is-es, Eu2000,  Eu1000 gensets.  Thanks Wind-Sun for this great Forum.
  • terminator
    terminator Registered Users Posts: 5
    Vic wrote: »
    Hi terminator, Welcome to the Forum.

Generally, NO, the inverter will need its own connection to the battery. You will need a fuse or circuit breaker, and suitable sized wire/cable for the battery to Inverter connections. Look at the manual for the inverter for the recommended sizes for these.

Vic

Ok, thanks. Oh, what size fuse (circuit breaker) should I use? and thanks for the welcome!

edit.. 100w system will be expanded to 300w soon. I'm not sure if I can go to 400w with a 30a charge controller but I already want a different one anyhow.
  • BB.