starting out

smoke meat
smoke meat Registered Users Posts: 8
I am new to solar and would like to build a system. I have read been reading post for a few weeks and seen people buying parts without doing anything. I would like where I need to start before buying anything. I would like build a system on paper before buying anything. On paper can see what is needed before buying anything. Any help would great full.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: starting out

Welcome to the forum.

That's a very sensible approach: plan before you buy!

In order to plan you have to first have some idea what you want the solar power for. There's quite a number of different system types depending on the application. None of it is cheap, and some of it is downright impractical.

So ... what do you want to achieve?
  • smoke meat

going off grid in a few year. running lights, appliances. water well, I also have a 5 hp 240 v motor that I will have to run, not that often. I did some numbers all ready it may take a great deal of work to make it work.
  • Cariboocoot
    smoke meat wrote: »
    going off grid in a few year. running lights, appliances. water well, I also have a 5 hp 240 v motor that I will have to run, not that often. I did some numbers all ready it may take a great deal of work to make it work.

Well you're right there: a 5 HP motor uses a lot of power. To set up an off grid system to power that would take a lot of money, and most of the time the equipment would not be in use. Best to fire up a big gen when you need that kind of power.

So let's talk about money. Chiefly why you want to go off grid? It will not save you a dime. Know that going in.