absolute beginner here/solar feasibility check

North
North Registered Users Posts: 3
I'm a single guy looking to get off the grid. I don't really have as much energy needs as some people. I don't really know what to look for, so I'm kind of just looking at wattage as my guide, but solar seems pretty reasonable for me. Also, I should mention that I live in Northeastern Pennsylvania.

Heres what I imagine as my max capacity, some of these numbers are known, some are averages because I couldnt find real info:
Item-watts
Computer 108
Monitor 55
Router 22
Modem 22 (modem and router can be one unit I suppose, but right now it isnt)
Computer Speakers 10
Small fridge 90

bedroom, living room, kitchen, bathroom (lights)

108+55+22+22+10+90+(40)*4 = 467 watts

for heat, I imagine I could just use good old fashioned fire wood.

I was looking at the following set of panels, if I bought two it should be fine (total 1000 watts): http://www.amazon.com/Premium-RENOGY-solar-Panel-System/dp/B00B8F4UZ2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1368412088&sr=8-1&keywords=solar+panel+500w

(I dont know what else is needed to go along with that, so if someone could set me in the right direction that would be great)

The only thing is, right now I dont know what to do about food. I use a foreman grill but it uses way too much power, I dont know what the best alternative is. I only really eat meat, fruits and vegetables, so my cooking needs aren't exactly complicated, and I don't do any fancy stuff, so whatever is beyond a firepit in the back yard should do.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: absolute beginner here/solar feasibility check

Welcome to the forum.

Let's ask the crucial question: Why do you want to go off grid?
    If it's to save money on your electric bill, forget it; off-grid power can't compete with utility power per kW hour.