new with batteries

Options
graffixx
graffixx Registered Users Posts: 3
Hello all I am a newbie here and to all this solar stuff I just picked up a pile of forklift batteries its a combination of forklift packs 5 48 and a 3 36 volt packsI am pretty sure they are all 875ah packs. My intention is to start out building a back up power system for my house I would like to be able to go off grid and charge with a generator if needed .I have looked into the midnight CC and 1 aims pwri500024s 5000 watt inverter to start ...
I am designing and planning to build a house next year and may try to put an array of solar up and some hot water panels and not even connect to the grid for a while I am also working on a homemade multiuse furnace/boiler for the hot water heat in the new house. so any info from here would be great Graffixx

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: new with batteries

While a battery is a major componet of an off grid system, the rest of the pieces would cost much more than connecting to the grid. Unless you have other reasons for being off grid, I would forget the idea.

So if you are just dieing to spend a more per kilawatt hour for electric to be your own electric company, I'd first find out if you have anything of value. Find out if someone in your area rebuilds forklift batteries and ask them to come out and see what you have. You won't want to keep/use all of them, likely want a single 48 volt battery. He may tall you if he feels any of your batteries are candidates for rebuilding. He might tell you you have 7,000lbs of lead.

With a proper generator you'll want an inverter/charger something like a magnum MS4448PAE this will allow you to charge the batteries and use the stored energy.