Switching from AC Well Pump to DC

Dook
Dook Registered Users Posts: 21 ✭✭
My home is on the side of a hill. At the bottom of my property I have a 3/4 hp AC well pump that I believe is 100' down the well. It has to pump water all the way up to a storage tank that is 108' above the ground, so that's 208' total lift.

I've been running the well pump off a generator for the past five years but the generator now has a problem, it puts out inconsistant volts, and I don't want to have to keep replacing generators every five years so I was thinking about switching the well pump from an AC one to a DC submersible with maybe another DC pump at the surface to help boost the water up to the tank.

To run electricity to the well would be about $4,000 so that's not something I want to do. Also I have bought a couple of inverters, one 1500 watt and another 5000 watt, to try and run the AC pump but neither one can handle it's start up amps.

If I do switch over to a DC powered well pump I have two 170 watt solar panels that I can use to recharge the batteries. How many batteries would it take? I think two would be plenty.

Any suggestions?

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Switching from AC Well Pump to DC

On suggestion would be to use a Grundfos SQF series pump. They take (not sure what PE means):
    30-300 VDC, PE.
    1 x 90-240 VAC –10%/+6%, 50/60 Hz, PE.

They are soft start, so you can run them from battery bank, AC genset, or even just solar panels...

If you are just pumping to a cistern/pond/tank--Then just a Solar Array of sufficient size to meet the voltage/current/Gallons Per Day for your water needs. No batteries, no Generator needed. When the sun is up (and the tank switch is on), it will pump as much water as it can (based on sun/solar array). And, you can still use a backup genset when needed.