Solar system for expedition van... Need review of diagram

Kiomon
Kiomon Registered Users Posts: 13
Hi all,

We are preparing to live and work out of a camper van for the next year+ owing for a non-profit to tell the stories of other non-profits across Europe and Africa. I am trying to deismg a solar and battery set-up for our van. I am new to solar and electric so I have been reading and studying others work

For background, we will roof mount the main panel. Trying to potentially move up to a 315 watt panel. Waiting to confirm measurements. We want to be able to charge via alternator, solar, and shore power..

Would love your feedback on the diagram below.

1. Can I move all of my positive connections to my positive bus bar, with the exception of my "sensor" wires? I would have a positive bus bar for each battery.
2. Have I connects all of this correctly?
3 I am thinking of adding a solar combiner and have a MC "port" that I can connect a flexible foldable panel too when we are parked. Is the anything wrong with that idea if there isn't a panel connectd to that second port 90% of the time.

Love any feedback, we are looking to order it all on Monday!

Attachment not found.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Solar system for expedition van... Need review of diagram

Welcome to the forum.

Now, slow down, stop, put the brakes on before you spend any money.
    You're going about it the wrong way.

It is essential that you come up with a number for how much and what type power you need to supply each day. Design the system around that.

What you've got is a collection of equipment that may or may not be suitable. For instance a 258 Amp hour battery is going to need more than 300 Watts solar to charge it. It will not "play well" with a 55 Amp hour battery. Mostly you may find when you measure the roof that there isn't room for one big panel and you'll have to use several little panels instead.