How much voltage do I need from solar panels? Help please

Options
Hi, I am new at using solar panels, but I thought I might give it a try. But I needed some questions answered before I began buying anything.

I have 10 AA Rechargable batteries, which are 1.2v's each, making them all together 12v's, and I want to charge them using solar panels.

Now my question is: How much voltage do I need to give those batteries to charge them? Do they need 12v from a solar panel to charge 12v's of batteries? Also, How long will the charging take, if slow, how can I make them charge faster? For example, some wall chargers these days can charge batteries in about 15 minutes only!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: How much voltage do I need from solar panels? Help please

Oh boy... That is a tough question to answer simply.

Here is a multi-page discussion over at the Candle Power Forum (family friendly place) about solar chargers for AA/AAA batteries.

The short(er) answers... NiCAD and NiMH batteries if you charge them with a 1/20 to 1/10 * Capacity (i.e., 10-20 hours to charge a battery), then you can do almost anything (resistors, simple 3-T regulators, etc.)...

However if you want 1-4 x C (1 hour to 15 minutes to charge), you need a pretty sophisticated type of charger (monitor temperature, current, voltage) to detect when to end the charge... Plus, if I recall correctly, the NiMH batteries that can take 4xC charge rates (internal protection) to prevent damage (i.e., rapid energetic disassembly).

And, we can also come back to what is it that you wish to accomplish. A solar panel that can collect ~5 hours of sun per day every day to charge your batteries (typically summertime) and only use if for 15 minutes (once in a while?) means that the solar panel would need to be 20-40 times the size (and cost) of a similar 1-2 day solar charger system.