two or more solar panels

Options
This is my first post, a question. I have no experience with these panels so what I,m asking may seem foolish. To gain better exposure from sun up to sundown, do two or more panels have to be at the same angle? Could one panel be set up for the first part of the day and a second panel be set up for the later part of the day? Would this create an imbalance between the panels, the stronger one feeding into the weaker one? My desire is to set up a cabin to be off-grid using solar panels.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,448 admin
    Options
    Re: two or more solar panels

Solar panels output their most energy when pointed within about 10 degrees of the sun (cosine function).

The problem is, of course, the apparent motion of the sun across the sky. The solution to the problem is different for different people, their location, and their specific needs.

Solution:

1. Fixed mounting (roof, ground, etc.). Overall, the best collection of kWhr for a 1 year period is to mount the panel at your Latitude pointing due south (not magnetic south). If you are near St. Petersburg Florida, that would be at ~29 degrees from horizontal. Here are several links where you can estimate your power collection. This first one are PDF files where you look up the nearby city--you can see how tilting at Latitude and +/- 15 degrees will affect your power collection (tilt up more, better winter number, tilt back and you get more power in the summer, etc.). This other link allows you to plug in the numbers (including compass direction) and get your 1 year estimate. Use the numbers (like 5.4 kWhr/m2*day) as 5.4 hours of full sun equivalent.

2. Fixed mounting with adjustable tilt. Same as above, but you manually set the tilt 2-4 times per year. Cheap, but you get closer to maximum power during each season.