arranging 24 panels

hi..just wanted to see if I am figuring this right..have 24-, 210 watt evergreen panels and intend to arrange them as follows:
2 strings of 6 panels to 1 FM-80 controller and
2 strings of 6 panels to the other FM 80.
VOC is 23.1 VMP is 18.3, IMP 11.48 and ISC 12.11 amps..
It will feed a 48 volt battery bank..so my calcultaions are as follows:

VOC is : 6X 23.1= 138.6 (max 150)..climate is tropical never below 70 degrees
VMP for charging 48 volt battery bank is: 109.8 (18.3 X6)

AMPS is 2560 watts/48 =52.5 for each array/ controller...

Is this the correct way to figure it? thks for the help again Larry

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: arranging 24 panels

Looks OK to me... By the way, I think your total array wattage is 2,520 watts, not 2,560 (is not going to change anything).

I am no expert, but does not the Outback controller have a shutdown at 140 VDC (and cancel warranty above 150 VDC)? Have you read the Outback requirements in detail around that point?

You are close--but if you never go below 70F--looks OK.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • stephendv
    stephendv Solar Expert Posts: 1,571 ✭✭

Why not do 3 x 4 instead so as not to surf so close to the edge?
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    stephendv wrote: »

i totally agree that 3 strings of 4 is much better and safer for the controllers. why chance it? this may change the v drop for your wiring, but it may be necessary to upgrade the wiring rather than risk the controllers in the higher voltage arrangement.
  • ggunn
    ggunn Solar Expert Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭
    BB. wrote: »
    Looks OK to me... By the way, I think your total array wattage is 2,520 watts, not 2,560 (is not going to change anything).