General trouble with calculations

As a newbie, I'm having a little trouble with some math... Was hoping someone here could help with some basic questions.

Example:

1 Compact flourecent 10W, 140mA
Deep Cycle 105 Amp Hours
350watt DC to AC inverter
2 15watt PV panels and a 7amp charge controller.
estimated 2 good hours of sun per day.

What other variables if any do you have to take into account in order to answer the following questions.

1) How long can you run this 120v CF while maintaining 80% reserve on the battery. If that 80% recommendation even applies to an off the shelf marine deep cycle.

2) Consumption of amps per hour

3) Charge rate? i.e. if battery is 10% depleated, how many days of charging are necessary with 2 hours of sun on the dual 15 watt pannels?

4) Is there substantial loss with the inverter and how is that calculated?

5) are the figures basically halfed if a second CF of the same wattage is added to the example?

I'm sure I am missing some key pieces of info but basically I am trying to come up with a graph or calculation that says with 1 CF bulb (10W 140mA) running for 1 hour, < X > amount of amps have been consumed and < Y > amount of time is required with < N > number of 15watt panels in order to get the battery back to starting level.

Are there specific technical numbers that I'm missing from this?

Any help is greatly appreciated. We are just starting out and being able to understand the above example would help us out greatly.

Thank You
Dave

Comments

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: General trouble with calculations

Dave, there is a bit more info needed for the board members to give you good feedback:

1. It sounds like you are using all 12 v equipment...right?
    2. what are the specs of the panels?
    3.what brand and model of charge controller are you using? Is it MPPT ?

As for your graph/spreadsheet, for a starter you need to use the formulas
    Watts = volts * amps