Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Solar Driveway Lights

Default Solar Driveway Lights

I'm a noob beginning my first solar project and have two questions:

I have 23 existing lights spanning 1400 feet down my driveway that are wired to my house with 14 gauge wire. I'd like to intercept the line running to my house and tie it in to my solar setup. Reusing the existing wire will save me time and money since it's already connected and buried. What should I do with the ground wire? The charge controller only has +/-. Is the existing 14 gauge wire suitable for this project?

I'm planning on using 2watt LED light bulbs for each of the 23 lights. I've purchased this 85 watt solar panel and this charge controller. What type of battery would you recommend?

My hope is that this setup will power my driveway lights every evening for 5 or so hours.
    Thanks!

Default Re: Solar Driveway Lights

Welcome to the forum.

Do you know the Voltage of the existing lights? Chances are they're 120 VAC if they're still bright at the end of 1400 feet of 14 AWG wire. That's going to be a problem if you try to switch to low Voltage LED lights powered by battery. You will also need to know the current rating of the lights.

Then you need to plug the data into a Voltage drop calculator like this one: http://www.solar-guppy.com/forum/dow...calculator.zip

I can tell you in advance that even with very low Amp LED's you're not going to have much left of 12 or 24 Volts by the time you reach the end of 1400 feet of 14 gauge wire. Like about nothing.
    Four 175 Watt panels, OB MX60, 232 Amp hrs, OB 3524, Honda eu2000.

Ohm's Law: Amps = Volts / Ohms
    Power Formula: Watts = Volts * Amps

Thanks Cariboocoot!

I'm pretty sure the existing lights are 120 VAC. I'll double check when I get home. Would I be better off running new wire down the driveway? If so, what type? And thanks for the calculator link.