String Sizing: Need Help

solarpower2009
solarpower2009 Registered Users Posts: 7
I am new to Solar power. I want to install 1kw system with 10 100w 12v panels. I am trying to see how to maximize the output from my panels.

I have a flexmax80 and an outback gvfx3524.

I tried using the outback string sizing tool, but was not successful.

Here are my specifications for the panels.
Isc. 5.4 voc. 24.8 Imp. 4.81 vmp. 20.8 vtoc. -.38 vtmp. -.47

Are 5 arrays of 2 panels in series a good option.
or
are 2 arrays of 5 panels in series a better option.

Any help in this regard is appreciated as I am about to install them on my roof.

Comments

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: String Sizing: Need Help

give the Outback tool another try.

I had to go to one of the stock panels first, seems to be veeeerrrry slow to load. then you can click on OWN and enter the panel details. Just cant print it off...

Eric

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM
    CL#29032 FW 2126/ 2073/ 2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3 x 4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM 
    Cotek ST1500W 24V Inverter,OmniCharge 3024,
    2 x Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr & Bridge,
    Eu3/2/1000i Gens, 1680W & E-Panel/WBjr to come, CL #647 asleep
    West Chilcotin, BC, Canada
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭

i think 5 arrays of 2 in series would be better as the higher voltages become less efficient the farther from the output voltage they are. i think it'll work if i'm not overlooking something here. btw, with a 2 string by 5 series pv arrangement during colder weather it could go far higher in voltage and around the controller's maximum voltage specs. you will need to fuse and combine these strings being more than 2.
  • solarpower2009

Westbranch and Niel,

Thanks for your quick replies.

I revisited the string sizing tool and was able to input my values for the first time.

I am not sure how to interpret the results for a 5 strings of 2 arrangement. (Picture below)