Grid tied PV system in Tempe, AZ

I'm trying to figure out how to size a grid tied residential solar system located in Tempe, AZ. I've got a graph of the last years energy usage here:

APS-energy-use.gif

How do I take this information and use it to size my solar install?

I'd like to put together a system that can scale to that 2500 kwh peak, with the idea that I'll probably start with fewer panels and scale up later.

I'm working on increasing my efficiency with a solar water heater and insulating my attic. However I am an IT consultant and I run several servers in my home office so my usage will always be a little higher than most.

What major equipment do I need? Power inverter and panels?

Anyone here have experience with an APS grid tied system? One thing I noticed was that my bill was only $70 electrical usage and $100 fees and taxes. Am I only going to save on that $70? I put in an email to APS, but they don't seem to be in a hurry to reply.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,433 admin
    Re: Grid tied PV system in Tempe, AZ

Sherman,

For a pure Grid Tied system... You really do not worry about peak loads, but average kWhr used for your particular time period...

Say your utility use is
    • 1,700 kWhrs per month average * 12 months per year = 20,400 kWhrs per year
    So, using the PV Watts website and Phoenix AZ, use 1kW of solar panels (even number) and use the rest as defaults:
    "Station Identification"
    "City:","Phoenix"
    "State:","Arizona"
    "Lat (deg N):", 33.43
    "Long (deg W):", 112.02
    "Elev (m): ", 339
    "PV System Specifications"
    "DC Rating:"," 1.0 kW"
    "DC to AC Derate Factor:"," 0.770"
    "AC Rating:"," 0.8 kW"
    "Array Type: Fixed Tilt"
    "Array Tilt:"," 33.5"
    "Array Azimuth:","180.0"

"Energy Specifications"
    "Cost of Electricity:"," 8.5 cents/kWh"

"Results"
    "Month", "Solar Radiation (kWh/m^2/day)", "AC Energy (kWh)", "Energy Value ($)"
    1, 5.09, 113, 9.61