What are strings?

adam1984
adam1984 Solar Expert Posts: 72 ✭✭✭✭
Forgive me, I am relatively new to this. I have a bachelors in EE and have done very little work with solar. I keep hearing the term strings. "5 panels to a string... you will need to string them in parallel..." Can someone please enlighten me on what exactly makes a string? You can speak in technical terms as although im a beginner to solar, i do have a background with electronics. Also, this site has been great for me so thanks in advance to you all.

Comments

• Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭
    Re: What are strings?

For the engineering mind think of this

String = Series , like resistors or other parts

So a string of 5 solar panels is the panels connected in series, plus to minus to have the voltage increase
  • adam1984

So it is not only referring to solar cells that make up a panel? Like there can be a string of cells in series to make up a panel or a string of panels to make up an array? And to reiterate, with solar, if I have a string of 10-10watt 1amp panels i would have 100 watts at one amp. And if i had the same 10-10watt 1amp panels in parallel i would have 10watts at 10amps? Thank you guys for not getting frustrated with beginner questions.
  • Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭

You have it right

Sometimes the "build it yourself panel" posters may refer to cells within a panel as stings, but most discussions here are at the panel level, either way its all the same
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    adam1984 wrote: »
    ...to reiterate, with solar, if I have a string of 10-10watt 1amp panels i would have 100 watts at one amp. And if i had the same 10-10watt 1amp panels in parallel i would have 10watts [BB: should be 100 watts] at 10amps? Thank you guys for not getting frustrated with beginner questions.

Your confusion probably stems from forgetting:
    • Power=Voltage*Current