"Free Whisper 200 & 50' tower"

Sheldon
Sheldon Solar Expert Posts: 51 ✭✭✭✭
Some back ground:

We were given a Whisper 200 & 50 ft tower kit, built in '04 by the widow of a former colleague, its a long story, but the system was never unpacked.

We live South of San Jose, (near Gilroy) on the valley floor, where we get fairly predictable afternoon winds and have a very predictable "marine layer" which blocks sun till 11:00 most days.

I'm a graduate EE, and lifelong sailor, have worked with Photonics at the micro-scale as well as power conversion at the component level for > 30 yrs, so I am I think realistic about what to expect from wind energy conversion.

We would like to use this in a grid tie for reducing our power billing, we have had up to 30kWhr a day in peak summer, with pool pump and AC. Eventually I plan to add PV for additional capacity. I don't see a need for significant battery back up, we have a 3600 watt Honda Generator for any long run grid fails.

After reading the other threads, I am glad I didn't buy a SWWP product, especially one of recent vintage, though I have spent $500 for an engineered foundation plan and plan to spend another $400 for permits and $300 for tower pipe, as well as buy an inverter etc.

Having said all of that: a few questions:

Assuming that the system efficiencies at 48V are significantly better than at 24, I would go that way unless there was a significant reason not to, opinions?

Looking at inverters the only ones I am aware of with 48V inputs and 120/240 output puts me into either a Xantrex XW, or an Outback CVFX3648, any better alternatives?

Both of those have excess capacities, for the expected 1kW peak output of the turbine.
I would add up to 3kW of PV, using either an XW MPPT charge controller or similar.

What bits and pieces would I need to compete the install other than 4x 12V batteries?

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: "Free Whisper 200 & 50' tower"