Ground mounts vs tracking mounts

Options
Given the price difference...is the investment worth it as far as additional energy generated? I'm a newbie but enjoy reading ya'lls opinions.

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Ground mounts vs tracking mounts

i don't think it's worth it, especially now that pvs have come down in price some. much much cheaper to add that cost a tracker would be and buy that much more in pvs and you'd reap lots more power than with a tracker. besides that even if a tracker could output that much more power than a fixed system of more pvs a tracker is mechanical and will fail.
  • Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭
    Options

Based on current PV prices, trackers are about 3X more than just adding PV. Plus the extra PV always produces more energy in all seasons and weather where trackers vary with the season on the increase over fixed mounts. They had there place a decade plus ago, pretty much no one except a few die hards use them with new systems
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,443 admin
    Options

"Dave Sparks"--another poster/installer here likes to use trackers for off-grid systems because it supplies useful power more more hours in a day (batteries do take time to recharge).

In any case, take a look at the PV Watts website and you can try both fixed and tracking arrays (1 and 2 axis). See how much power you generate from each type. For derating factor use 0.77 for Grid Tied and ~0.52 for Off-Grid with Flooded Cell Batteries and AC inverter.

Then run a very simple $$$/kWhr calculation:

(panels+tracker+hardware+batteries+replacement costs) / (20 yrs * kWHrs/year) = $$/kWhr