space heater

krisman
krisman Solar Expert Posts: 57 ✭✭✭✭
I have an enclosed back porch with quite a few windows, it measures about 25 L x 10 W x 10 H. the sunlight through the windows are just not enough to heat it well and as much as i hate to i am going to have to get a space heater to help the gas furnace, the furnace runs non stop at 74 degrees. I have read where space heaters with built in fans work well and i also know that you guys reccommend oil filled space heaters. I just dont like the idea of burning petroleum in the house. I am new to them so i dont know much about them, so tell me everything. Can you replace the petroleum with plain old vegetable oil? i would feel much safer burning an all natural oil.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: space heater

You can compare costs with the Fuel Cost Comparison Calculator--But, if you have natural gas (or even propane), that would most likely be much more cost efficient than using electric heater(s) of any time (unless you only need to heat the porch a few day out of the month (guests, parties, etc. where $5 for 4 days a month is OK and for $5 a day for 30 days a month is too much).

Bay, borrow, beg a cheap/simple 1,500 watt electric heater and put a Kill-A-Watt meter on it for 24 hours on a cool day and see how much it costs you to operate.

Then compare the estimated fuel costs between the electric heater vs natural gas/propane.

My guess is that a good sealed combustion direct vent wall heater or even sealed combustion direct vent gas fire place if it would add to the decor of the room.

But, back to fundamentals--double pane windows, storm windows, lots of insulation, weather stripping, insulation in ceiling/walls/floors, etc. would be my first place to spend the money. I don't know how much glass you have, but possibly replacing with custom (factory built) double pane windows with low E glass may be a big help too.