Off grid Thin Film panel tracks battery voltage

Hi Folks

I'm new to this solar world but I'm doing a bit of a project ona Thin film solar panel for off grid functionality.
I have a 130 Watt Mitsubishi panel connected to a flexcharge NC25A 24 v charge controller charging 2 12 v Trojan 24TMX 85ah batteries connected in seris for a 24 v configuration.
I have a chart recorder tracking the voltage of the battery and the panel.
The open circuit voltage of the panel is about 120 v max.
The problem seems to be that when I connect the panel , via a blocking diode and fuse to the battery , the panel voltage seems to track the battery both day and night.
I expected the panel voltage to drop off to close to 0 volts at night and the battery to drop slowly from max voltage. But even at night the panel voltage and battery voltage are tracking each other. My batteries don't seem to be charging fully. I think I have the circuit wired correctly. Does anybody think I have over looked something here - incorrect charge controller possibly.

Comments

• Windsun
    Windsun Solar Expert Posts: 1,164 ✭✭
    Re: Off grid Thin Film panel tracks battery voltage

Where are you actually measuring the panel voltage at?

Unless that is an MPPT controller, if you have a 130 watt panel putting out 120 volts, you will only get around 1 amp or so into the battery.
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin

I'm measuring the panel voltage at the input to the charge controller. I measured the current and I was getting about 1.3 Amps.
    I can't measure before the blocking diode as its inside the junction box.
    So you saying the charge controller is not good enough - it was only 50 dollors.
    I should most like buy a bettter charge controller.
  • Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭

with a VOC of 120V, you probably blew up the 50 dollar controller, the cheap ones are usually maximum input of 20V
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin