Electrical fan to power ALT

mikeflorida
mikeflorida Registered Users Posts: 5
Im new to this so here goes. To get started in this would it pay off to use a Electrical fan to turn the alternator to provide amps to your battery bank till you can afford the solor pannels and would this work? Any help on this would be helpfull. :-)

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Electrical fan to power ALT

I take it your intent was to spin a wind turbine with air blown by a fan? Not likely to work at all.
    The losses involved going from AC to fan motor to alternator to DC are ridiculous.
    If you've got a source of AC power to run the fan, you've got power to run a battery charger. Get a good battery charger, as you're going to need some sort of back-up charging system for bad days when the sun doesn't shine and the wind doesn't blow.

Example of good battery chargers: http://store.solar-electric.com/bach1.html

If you're planning an inverter set-up, consider a more expensive model with built-in battery charger.

BTW, on the whole small-scale wind power isn't very practical so don't expect much from it. Read our host's own disclaimer here: http://store.solar-electric.com/wind.html
  • mikeflorida

No the fan will turn the alternator to charge the batt. this will simulate the vert turbin / solar pannels when they become aval to me. And yes a charger will be needed. I am looking at the options for useing less electrical power to reduce my electrical bill. Right now i use a gen set when we loose power from a bad storm.. Miami Fl. i am very new to this as you can see from my first question.

thanks Mike
  • halfcrazy
    halfcrazy Solar Expert Posts: 720 ✭✭✭

Are you asking if you can take the blades of the fan and install them on the alternator? or are you asking if you can plug the fan in and point it towards a wind turbine?
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin