Help Help Please

cokebbeh
cokebbeh Registered Users Posts: 8
Hello All,
I am new to this and need some serious help. I posted a question earlier and many responded with invaluable advice. I decided to revise my purchase based on the prices offered. I ended up getting "4" SUN- 130 Watt Solar Panel>>> equivalence of 520Watts.

I did not buy anything else. Just empty panels. From looking inside the boxes, I could not even see wires,,, so I guess I have to purchase the wires. I plan on using this panels to run a few bulbs in Africa. Sun is available throughout the year, except for the period May - August, when we have rains.

My plan is to run 8 bulbs ( please advice me on the most efficient and low wattage bulb). I read a thread by another guy who wants to run a submersible water pump. I would also like to run a submersible water pump if possible. A stereo system, a TV and DVD. I would also like to run a basic fan and a small "Dorm Room" refrigerator and to charge my laptop.

Is this possible with 520 watts? (please see the specifics of the panels below.). What other things do I need and what do u recommend? The guys at Sun Electronics indicated that I need the following - Charge controller, batteries, combiner box, inverter dc and ac disconnect and an AC Panel Box. However, they gave me different advices as to what size of these. PLEASE, PLEASE.. with what I have - 520 watts..and the specifics below... how many batteries do i need, what kind of inverster etc. Any one can recommend good solar fan, solar tv, and solar bulbs or even solar stereo and solar submersible pump.

See below here for the specifics of my panel

SUN- 130 Watt Solar Panel

VOC 24.10V
VMP 18.80V
ISC 7.11amp
IMP 6.55amp

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Help Help Please

You were doing alright until you mentioned "dorm type fridge"

As a basic primmer, look at the off grid solar threads on this forum, particularly about off grid cabins.