Sunny Boy monitoring

FL SUN
FL SUN Solar Expert Posts: 94 ✭✭✭✭
Just commissioned a Sunny Boy 6000U, and am looking at monitoring this system's production online.

Seems it requires an RS485 card and the Sunny Webbox, adding an additional $800.00 just for monitoring. This does not seem cost effective to me.

Are there any lower cost alternatives available for online monitoring using this inverter? I am not a computer programmer, so I may need to get some replies "dumbed down" while I'm learning this.

Is it true that the Xantrex GT inverters already come with the monitoring ports, and firmware so no more "accessories" are needed?

Comments

• Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭
    Re: Sunny Boy monitoring

The lowest cost is an RS232 card and using the free sunnydata software ... but yes ANY data logging on SMA inverters is add ons, about 300 bucks when I had it in 2002

And Yes, The Xantrex GT inverters come with RS232 included and GT/SG-View software is also free and more feature rich than the SunnyData offering
  • stephendv
    stephendv Solar Expert Posts: 1,571 ✭✭

There's also the Solarlog product which is compatible with a number of inverters, but it's not much cheaper: http://shop.fotovoltaikshop.de/nav_4_87_nav_data-logger-and-displays_solarlog.html?language=en
  • FL SUN
    FL SUN Solar Expert Posts: 94 ✭✭✭✭
    The lowest cost is an RS232 card and using the free sunnydata software ... but yes ANY data logging on SMA inverters is add ons, about 300 bucks when I had it in 2002

And Yes, The Xantrex GT inverters come with RS232 included and GT/SG-View software is also free and more feature rich than the SunnyData offering

Any links to the RS232 card? I'm getting up to speed on the Sunnydata software, but I have a lot of basics to learn yet on this 485 to 232 stuff and settings and whatnot.

I'll be using a Xantrex 5.0 GT on my next project, so this won't be so difficult next time.
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin