Almost there...but need a little advice

Options
CaribSoul
CaribSoul Registered Users Posts: 9
OK, I am an electrical engineer, but my experience in designing an off-grid (waaay off-grid!) system is less than a week. I'm pretty close to placing an order for a starter system for my Canadian cabin. However, there a couple nagging questions that I haven't found answers for in the forum.

This is the system I have in mind (one each of the following):
Kyocera KD210GX-LP 210 Watt Solar Panel (24V)
Morningstar SunSaver MPPT Solar Charge Controller
Sun Xtender PVX-1040T AGM Sealed Battery (104 AH)
Samlex 600 Watt 12 Volt Sine Wave Inverter

My first question is, am I doing the right thing getting a 24V panel? The higher voltage will have less voltage drop in the cable connecting to the MPPT. Since the MPPT is a switching buck converter, it will greater range of input voltage above the 12-volt battery voltage to work with. Are there reasons to use 12V panel(s) instead?

My second question also involves the MPPT. With a 12V battery the load capability is 15 Amps, which works out to be about 200W (since the battery voltage is normally a volt or 2 above 12.) Is there a problem using the MPPT load terminals for 12-volt devices (like lights, low-power coffee maker, iPOD charger, etc.) and then connecting the inverter directly to the battery? (through a fuse, of course!)

Thanks a lot for your help!

Chris

Comments

• rplarry
    rplarry Solar Expert Posts: 203 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: Almost there...but need a little advice

Caribsoul
    Yes the 24v panel will work well with that morningstar controller.
    As far as the load terminals on the controller, I am not familiar with that controller so you would have to check the specs, of maybe someone with experience with that controller will chime in.
    Good luck.
    Larry
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,443 admin
    Options