Service Panel Too Small at 200 amps- Help!

Jimsolar
Jimsolar Registered Users Posts: 10
I am new to solar PV. I am doing a self install of a 10.0 kw ac system in the San Diego area. I am installing sixty (60) 200 watt panels, equally split through 2 SMA 6000 inverters. If I combine the two inverters before connecting to my electric panel, then I need a 60 amp breaker in my panel. If I run both AC outputs from the inverters directly into my panel, then I need two 40 amp breakers (one for each). My panel is rated at 200 amps max, and I have a 200 amp main breaker. NEC (and the local inspector) says max breaker size is 120% of the panel minus the main breaker (200 amps x 1.2 = 240 amps minus the 200 amp breaker = 40 amp maximum breaker allowed). So I cannot run my inverters combined because that requires a 60 amp breaker. And in San Diego, they add the sum of all breakers feeding solar into the panel which means running them separately is 40 amps + 40 amps = 80 amps which is also greater than the 40 amps the panel can accommodate. So, I see only two options: 1) upgrade my service panel or 2) downsize my main breaker from 200 amps to 175 amps, which would then allow a 60 amp breaker. But I don't want to downsize it. Do any of you have any other potential solutions? Many thanks in advance!

Comments

• TnAndy
    TnAndy Solar Expert Posts: 249 ✭✭
    Re: Service Panel Too Small at 200 amps- Help!

I can't see where going to a 175 main ( assuming you could even find one ) will help..

175 x 1.2 = 210 - 175 = 35amp max breaker size ( am I missing something ? )

Looks like service upgrade time. I had to go to a 400amp main service myself to put in a 2.1kw system that I knew I would expand to a 3.5 eventually.
  • Jimsolar

Thanks for the quick reply. The math is actually a little different from your calcs when you downgrade. Remember the service panel capacity is the key:
    200 amps x 1.2 = 240 less 175 amp main breaker = 65 amps available for a breaker.