Camping

Options
System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hello all; Thanks for this great forum.

I have been camping for two years now with no hydro, just a generator. North of Toronto, Ontario.
Recently I got my hands on 4 broadband 12 volt gell batteries, slightly used for phone or cable power backups. They look like $200 each and I got all 4 for that. I allso just purchased 2 30 watt folding solar panels from Sunforce. Looks like another great deal at $150 each. I built a stand (looks like a sign with the 35 decree angle) out of 4X4 posts and plywood, in my most sunny spot. Haven't had a decent week of sun yet. LOL

I have just a couple of questions now.
I heard that solar panels will work on cloudy days and even moonlight (I don't think so, That's why they are called Solar panels) True or False?

Combining smaller wattage panels with larger panels, will make them all smaller wattage. or do you just add up the total wattage ? (combine 2-5 watt with 2-15 watts equals 4X5=20 or 40 watts?)

I think I read here or elsewhere that 3-5 watt panels equals 10 watts, you lose wattage on charging battery load?

A good point I want to add is; when testing solar panels make sure your multi-meter is set to 100-200 volts DC, not 12-20 volts like I did. I had mine set to 20 volts thinking it will read 12-15 volts, but in direct sun they read 24 volts and overloaded the meter to read nothing.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    Options
    Re: Camping

Solar panels really generate useful amounts of energy in in full sun and on bright overcast days. They will not give you much power in shade, or under moonlight. There was an article that did say they work under starlight--but that is simply not true.

And under cloudy sky's you will only gather around 1/2 to 1/10 of that under clear and sunny conditions.