Two Position Mounting Ideas?

x_logo
x_logo Registered Users Posts: 12
I'm new to solar but old (very) to electronic-mechanical and am planning a 5KW installation by the end of the year.

Our power company has two major rates: summer: May-Oct, and winter: Nov-April with summer rates about 22% higher -- the trend, of course is ever increasing spread. This suggests two different tilt angles would optimize panel output according to cost and sun position. After doing some rough math I figure the summer angle at about 14 degrees and winter angle at about 48 degrees, more or less. (I'm in Phoenix @ 33.3 deg) At the end of April and again sometime around the beginning of September, the panels will be manually repositioned (along with roof and panel inspection). So a mounting with two positions would work.

The mounts will likely be made of welded square steel tube and light angle. We have had winds exceed 65MPH last year so these have to be somewhat stout -- I'll have a structural engineer take a look before fabrication.

Before I reinvent the wheel does anybody have any thoughts, ideas, or links on such a mounting system?

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Two Position Mounting Ideas?

Sounds like you are on the right track. My one question is if the spacing on the panels is is that small,, are you going to have a potential to shade one string by the other at various times of the year?

Tony
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

If you wish--take a look at the PV Watts site... Uses real data (~20 years of logged solar data, including weather) to estimate your average yearly output.

You can input various angles and see where various settings (-15,0,+15 degrees) peak for specific months--or you can even download CSV data set with hourly output estimates.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭