Various little questions...

RandomJoe
RandomJoe Solar Expert Posts: 472 ✭✭✭
So it's (almost) the start of another month and I'm looking at my next round of toys for the solar system. :D I had a few questions that perhaps some here can answer - or at least give their opinion! ;)

First, I'm going to buy a battery monitor. I've heard all the raves about the Trimetric, but wondered if that's *the* one to get, or just one of the more affordable ones? I am also considering the Xantrex LinkLITE, and perhaps / possibly the Outback Power Flexnet system monitor (since I have an Outback FM-80, and will probably keep going with them as I expand). But is the Outback one usable standalone, or does it require the Mate? (I don't have that yet.) At some point I am going to work on computer monitoring everything (another hobby - I do building automation systems for a living) so the Mate will eventually be on the list...

Second, what about the battery caps? I have Trojan T-105+ batteries with the flip-top caps. I see NAWS has water-misers and hydro-caps, and have read the difference between the two. On the one hand, less watering sounds great, but on the other hand my bank has been in for a couple months now, and I just checked the levels and they are the same as they were when I got them! I'm not pushing a ton of amps into them (indeed, the highest charge rate I can manage is 55A from the AC charger, and I have a 660AH bank - so a little low perhaps anyway) so just how much water would those caps save? And would I see enough benefit from the hydro-caps to justify the cost? (My initial interest in those was the reduction - elimination?!? - of hydrogen gas. The battery bank is in my garage. But then you have to take them off for equalization...)