Controller help

krabid
krabid Registered Users Posts: 15
Hi,
I'm new to the Solar Power world as well as this forum. I'm interested in installing a system on my RV. Thinking of starting with a simple system of 130W to 160W and controller. I want to be able to expand the system in the furure should I need to. Maybe add more panels, batteries and a hard wired inverted at a later date. I now have 2 100ah 12V batteries.

Now to the question I have. Which type controller should I go with, a MPPT or a PWM? Is there a perticulare brand and model I should be looking at? I also want one with a remote indicator panel or should I be looking at a seperate volt/amp hour monitor?

Thanks for any sugestions

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Controller help

The question that is always asked (not just by you)--is how to start small and grow into a large system.

The simple answer is you cannot (or at least; cannot cost effectively).

The first problem is batteries age and if you attempt to add more batteries in parallel--the new batteries will tend to age quicker until they die, very roughly, around the age of the original batteries in the system.

Second problem is that charge controllers tend to be either smaller units (under 200-400 watts) or larger units (400 watts or more). As you size up the system, you are generally going to have to toss (sell, give away, or keep for a small system) the original controller as you increase the size of your system (you can parallel smaller and larger controllers together on one battery bank--so, you can keep the smaller one--however, you now have several controllers to monitor and program for proper operation--and making sure they don't clash--like trying to equalize your battery bank on different days).