Solar Lumber Kiln Using Radiator Fans

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hi all - I'm a newbie here, so please redirect if I'm out of line. I searched as best I could determine on this topic and didn't see anything.

I'm an urban forester who saves hardwood trees for lumber. My sawyer has had to dismantle his kiln, so I need to make a new one at my remote site (i.e. off the grid) so that I can continue to dry lumber. Of course, I'd like to do it in the most ecological and economical way possible. So I thought I'd take a few old 12V radiator fans to provide the airflow, hook them to a solar panel (and perhaps a car battery and charger system for more consistent running) and voila! However, I've searched far and wide on the internet for a real nuts and bolts description of how to do this and have come up empty.

Anyone here have any clues for me? I'm looking for advice on which PV panel to use, any components that would be required, and possible pitfalls.

If there's a useful hardcopy reference manual out there, I'd be up for recommendations on something like that, too.

Thanks much in advance!
Bill

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Solar Lumber Kiln Using Radiator Fans

i don't know as i had no trouble with a quick search and found this:
    http://owic.oregonstate.edu/solarkiln/plans.htm
    about the only things that weren't addressed that i foresaw was the size of the fan in relation to the size of the kiln in cubic ft/min and similar parameters for the fan such as its diameter and wattage. it must have enough power to push that hot air downward to the lumber.