Newbie need help

Options
System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hi guys I am new to this great forum. I am going to put together some solar panels but not sure which to do. I just bought 50 3x6 cells to make a solar panel 36 cells in series would be 18 volts,63 watts and 3.5 amps. I plan on using two 12 volt deep cycle batteries that are 900 cranking amps in parallel. I have another configuration I thought about 32 cells in series would be 16 volts,56 watts and 3.5 amps. I am not sure which configuration to use. All help will be greatly appreciated thanks a lot.
also can I just use a charge controller if I use the 18 volt configuration or do I need a regulator cause the batteries are 12 volts?
Dave

Comments

• Dapdan
    Dapdan Solar Expert Posts: 330 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: Newbie need help

Hey there,

I am new to this great place too. I would advise you to go with the 36 cell arrangement at 18v inorder to charge a 12v battery. wrt the battery make sure you are using a deep cycle battery since you quoted cranking amp, you should be quoting amp hours or reserve capacity. it will not work well with a starting battery and the battery will die in short order.

you would not need a regulator. the CC will regulate the voltage and current according to it charging cycle (bulk, absorption & float). it seem as though you have enough cells to make one panel and not enough to make two:D

Damani
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options

We really try to dissuade people from building their own panels... It is difficult to make them, does not save much money now-a-days, and they probably will not last the 20-25+ years a factory built glass/sealed panel will.

If you do build a large panel--make sure you install it where it does not matter if it catches fire (especially if you build it out of plastic and/or wood).

Panel Fire Question