Question about Battery Water Usage

I'm really new at this solar stuff and sort of learning on the fly. I am very interested in solar for RV's. I have two 115 volt PV panels on my RV roof and two 12 volt batteries and two 6 volt batteries. Controller is inside RV and batteries are in outside compartments. My controller is a Sunsaver 20 amp. Problem I have is the 6 volt batteries boil and I have to add distilled water every month. Can anyone explain what is happening that causes this? and what can be done about it? Thanks,

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,433 admin
    Re: Expanding Forums?

Having to add "reasonable" amounts of distilled water every month (especially during the summer) is normal. If you are not adding any water, then the batteries are probably undercharged.

If your are just topping off the cells, instead of down to the plates--things are probably fine. You can also look at these "water miser" caps--they can also help keep the water/acid in the battery.

Using a solar charge controller with a remote battery temperature sensor will help to a degree (depends on temperature of battery vs charge controller).

Also, it is possible that you are overcharging your batteries... Getting a DVM (digital voltmeter--should be accurate to 12.xx readings, at least) and checking your battery voltages (at the terminals) as they are charging will quickly tell you if there is a problem.

Lastly, if you have a hydrometer that shows your batteries are fully charged but the controller is still outputting "high" currents to the battery bank--then you may have a bad (or miss-configured) charge controller.

You probably have multiple charging controllers in your RV (solar, AC shore power, RV Alternator, RV aux generator, perhaps even a trickle charger for off-season storage)--and any of these could be causing your (possible) overcharging.