sliding solar panels

i am an architecture student in İstanbul Technical University, from Turkey.
in my ecological house project, i am working on some new ideas for using this panels. i am searching for using solar panels as sliding facade.
the second idea is using solar panels on the surface of jalousie. its alterable angles is substance of this idea. i attach some sketches about these. i will be waiting your opinions. thanks.

Comments

• crewzer
    crewzer Registered Users, Solar Expert Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: sliding solar panels

Stardust,

Interesting ideas!

The designs for the Solar Decathlons held in Washington, D.C., USA might be of interest to you.

See: http://www.solardecathlon.org/
    and: http://www.solardecathlon.org/homes_gallery.html
    and especially: http://www.solardecathlon.org/homes_gallery.html#darmstadt

More info on the TU Darmstadt entry: http://www.inhabitat.com/2007/10/19/solar-decathlon-technische-universitat-darmstadt/

Info on the PV "shutters" (jalousie): http://www.solardecathlon.de/index.php/our-house/the-shell/

Hope this helps,
    Jim / crewzer
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

One thing to remember is that you will want to keep any shadows/shading off of the active solar PV panels (at the very least, no shadows between 9am to 3pm, summer/winter). The panels' voltage/current drop very quickly if even on or two cells are shaded (in a panel with ~36 cells).

Solar thermal panels (hot air/hot water) are more tolerant of shading and more efficient (watts per square meter/foot) at collecting energy (solar PV electric panels are around ~12% vs solar thermal which can be upwards of 80% efficient). Also, it is very common to install solar thermal panels more vertical--typically you want them to collect as much heat during winter days and less heat in the summer (prevent them from overheating).