Use of home solar panel for RV

Options
retiredincolorado
retiredincolorado Registered Users, Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2
I was given a solar panel that I would like to use with a RV.  Battery will be a 200AH Lithium 12 V.  Panel Nominal Power is 300W, Voltage at Maximum power is 32.41 V, Current at max power is 9.26 A.  Are there charge controllers to make a proper setup?  Or is there another panel that would be more compatible.  I'm a newbie.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,457 admin
    Options
    Your Vmp~32 volt and Imp-9.26 amp single panel will work with almost any MPPT (maximum power point tracking) solar charge controller....

MPPT controllers can efficiently "down convert" higher voltage/lower current from a solar array to a lower voltage/higher charging current for a battery bank.

There are specific PV Input vs Charge Controller Battery output conditions... Your panel should work with just about any MPPT controller...

Minimum suggested charge controller:
    • 300 Watt panel * 0.77 panel+controller derating * 1/14.5 volt charging = 15.9 ~ 16 Amp suggested minimum MPPT solar charge controller
    • 300 Watt panel * 1/0.66 panel+controller "optimum" max rating (various reasons) * 1/14.5 volts = 31 Amp suggested "largest" MPPT controller
    16-31 amp MPPT charge controller (with 12 volt battery capability) is a good range... Below 16 amps, the MPPT controller will "throttle" output current to max rated current (safely). Over ~31 amp rating--Just bigger than you need (more costly)--But will work fine too.

There are non-MPPT controllers--They will work but can cost you upwards of 50% of your 300 Watt panel (i.e., ~150 Watt output from panel). Non-MPPT controllers are "cheaper", but will be much less than optimum for your panel.

You can go with a larger MPPT controller if, for example, you plan on adding a 2nd 300 watt panel later (if you have roof space).